Easy Wall Decor Project

Winter is my indoor season. I just hate the cold so much! Unless you ski or snowboard (which I don’t), there’s not a ton of fun outdoor activities. Which means I spend a lot of time hanging around the house. And the more time I spend in here, the more I realize my decorating is rather blah. So I’ve decided to make my least favorite season a productive one and do some pre-spring cleaning/organizing/redecorating. I know as soon as the weather turns warm and sunny I’m not going to want to be stuck inside getting this stuff done. Plus, if I’m going to be stuck in here for a couple more months, at least I can be stuck in a well-decorated, clean, and organized house.
Of course I should have started by getting the house perfectly clean, but it’s close enough and I got too excited about a new decorating project. I don’t know what to call it, but we can go with scrapbook paper wall decor for now.

20140113-141350.jpg

This can also be a great project for the kids to decorate their rooms, and it’s quick and easy enough that they won’t get bored halfway through.
I ran out to the craft store early yesterday afternoon and got all my supplies. I spent $11 but that included a lot of extras for future projects, plus some clearance items that were too cute to pass up.

Here’s a list of what you will need:

-3 sheets of scrapbook paper of a similar color but different patterns (I got these on sale for 36 cents each)
-3 picture frames of the same size and style (I got these for $1 each at the Dollar Tree)
-paint for the frame if you couldn’t find the exact ones you wanted
-newspaper (to protect your workspace)
-scissors
-spray adhesive or glue stick (you can skip this if you can’t find any around the house)

Step One:
Take the backing and glass out of the frames.

20140113-141527.jpg

Step Two:
Paint the frames. While waiting for them to dry proceed to Step Three.

20140113-141651.jpg

Step Three:
Use the backing from the frame to trace out the scrapbook paper. Cut the paper along the lines you traced.
Step Four:
Decide which direction you want the paper to set at. Be mindful if the print can only go one way.
Step Five:
Rub glue stick or spray the adhesive on the picture frame backing. Line up your paper and stick it on. Make sure you smooth out any bubbles or wrinkles.

20140113-141835.jpg

Step Six:
When your frames are dry, put the glass back in the frame (or skip it like I did- it’s not necessary and I hate the glare when the lights are on), and put the backing back in.

20140113-142005.jpg

Step Seven:
Hang and enjoy your creation!

20140113-142137.jpg

20140113-142338.jpg

I would love to hear about your experience if you tried this project! I had a lot of fun making mine and I really like how it adds to the house.

3 thoughts on “Easy Wall Decor Project

  1. Pingback: Decorating Your Child’s Room | thehelpfulhousewife's Blog

Leave a Reply

