Welcome Fall! (Part 2)

Now for the fun part- decorating! I love making my home cozy and festive for every holiday or season and I think fall is one of the easiest seasons to decorate for. How’s that? Well first of all, you can save money by using your autumn decor through Thanksgiving to impress your holiday guests. This also saves time by not having to do all that work the week before. Also, you can use natural decor, things from your yard or a local farm. Leaves that fall off the trees, apples, pumpkins and gourds make great decor. You can also use color to give that festive feel- anything you already have in red, yellow or orange will fit perfectly.
I have light yellow curtains on my patio door and to take them from everyday to autumn I simply pinned fabric leaves to the top. This was really affordable and added a little festivity without investing in new curtains. If you want to try this yourself, this is what I used:
-bag of 50 fabric leaves $1 at the Dollar Tree
-container of 50 safety pins $1.48 at Price Chopper
I used 22 leaves and 22 safety pins to do this 6ft wide set of curtains so you could do several windows depending on the size for about $2.50.

20130925-161218.jpg

I used some of the leftover leaves to decorate a basket I also purchased for $1 at the Dollar Tree. I used a hot glue gun to fasten the leaves and filled the basket with some apples from the backyard. I used about 21 leaves for this project so it cost about $1.50. This could also be a fun project for children and you could use a glue stick instead.

20130925-161907.jpg

I also purchased some cheap decorative towels from the Dollar Tree (yes, I am in love with that store) for $1 each to brighten up my kitchen.

20130925-162232.jpg

You could also make your own festive towels by dying plain white towels orange, red or yellow and using a fabric marker to stencil on a leaf print or other design. Or maybe take four towels and stencil “F” “A” “L” “L” on each. This could also be a fun project with the kids, and you could even do it outside while the weather is still warm, to cut down on the mess.
Yet another wonderful purchase from the Dollar Tree is the leaf garland. You get a 5ft strand for $1 and they look great woven through a railing or banister. I’m not sure if they are meant for outdoors, but the leaves are a kind of plasticky fabric on a plastic strand, so I think they might fair well.

20130925-163435.jpg

I’ll keep you updated on more fall project ideas as the season continues and I hope you get a chance to try some of these!
Happy Harvest!

Leave a Reply

